Info Panel
You are here:   Home  /  Album/Song  /  UK – debut album for the super group UK

UK – debut album for the super group UK

U.K. is the self-titled debut album by the progressive rock supergroup U.K., released in 1978 through E.G. Records and Polydor Records.

Bill Bruford left Genesis as their touring drummer to form UK with the other members of UK, Genesis learned of this in the music press before Bill Bruford told them.


John Wetton (formerly of Family, King Crimson, Uriah Heep and Roxy Music),
Eddie Jobson (formerly of Curved Air, Roxy Music and Frank Zappa),
Bill Bruford (formerly of Yes and King Crimson and Genesis) as well as,
Allan Holdsworth (formerly of Soft Machine and Gong).
“In the Dead of Night” and “Mental Medication” were both edited for single release.

Track listing

Side one

“In the Dead of Night” (Eddie Jobson, John Wetton) – 5:38
“By the Light of Day” (Jobson, Wetton) – 4:32
“Presto Vivace and Reprise” (Jobson, Wetton) – 2:58
“Thirty Years” (Wetton, Jobson, Bill Bruford) – 8:05

Side two

“Alaska” (Jobson) – 4:45
“Time to Kill” (Jobson, Wetton, Bruford) – 4:55
“Nevermore” (Allan Holdsworth, Jobson, Wetton) – 8:09
“Mental Medication” (Holdsworth, Bruford, Jobson) – 7:26 (duration incorrectly listed as 6:12 on original LP pressings of the album)

All lyrics by John Wetton, except “Mental Medication” by Bill Bruford. Note: The first three tracks belong to a suite entitled “In the Dead of Night.”


Eddie Jobson – electric violin, keyboards, electronics
John Wetton – vocals, bass
Allan Holdsworth – guitar
Bill Bruford – drums, percussion
Stephen W Tayler – engineering, mixing

Recorded December 1977 – January 1978 at Trident Studios in London, England


“In the Dead of Night” / “Mental Medication”

  1978  /  Album/Song, UK  /  Last Updated July 30, 2013 by Harrychuck  /