Info Panel
You are here:   Home  /  Album Mike and the Mechanics  /  The Road

The Road

The Road marks a departure in the Mechanics line up of Paul Carrack and also a move to a new record label from Virgin to Arista. It also marks a new beginning for Andrew Roachford and Tim Howar as new members of the writing and performing team.

Track listing

The Road (Mike Rutherford, Christopher Neil, Martin Sutton) – 4:20

Reach Out (Touch The Sun) (Rutherford, Andrew Roachford, Jamie Norton, Benjamin Weaver) – 4:03

Try To Save Me (Rutherford, Neil, Roachford) – 3:47

Background Noise (Rutherford, Neil, Arno Carstens) – 4:15

I Don’t Do Love (Rutherford, Neil, Roachford, Tim Howar) – 4:34

Heaven Doesn’t Care (Rutherford, Neil, Sutton) – 3:37

It Only Hurts For A While (Rutherford, Neil, Carstens) – 4:09

Walking On Water (Rutherford, Roachford, Norton, Weaver) – 3:41

Hunt You Down (Rutherford, Neil, Carstens) – 3:44

Oh No (Rutherford, Neil, Howar) – 4:17

You Can Be The Rock (Rutherford, Neil, Roachford) – 5:17


Mike Rutherford – guitar, bass, programming
Andrew Roachford – lead and backing vocals, Wurlitzer
Tim Howar – backing vocals, lead vocals on tracks 6 and 10
Gary Wallis – drums
Anthony Drennan – guitar
Luke Juby – keyboards

Additional personnel

Arno Carstens – lead vocals on tracks 4, 7, 9
Martin Sutton – programming, guitar
Peter Adams – hammond Organ
Toby Chapman – keyboards
Harry Rutherford – drums on tracks 4, 9 and additional programming on all tracks
Jamie Norton – keyboards on tracks 2, 8
Ben Weaver – guitar on track 2, bass on track 8
George Hewlett – organ on track 9
Hugo Flower – guitar on track 9
Jamie Moses – guitar on track 3
Ben Robins – programming on tracks 3, 10
Christopher Neil, Hazel Fernandez, Beverley Brown and Mary Pearce – backing vocals
Barrow Hills School Choir – on track 6


Produced by Christopher Neil and Mike Rutherford – Tracks 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11
Produced by Mike Rutherford and Graham Stack for Metrophonic Productions – Tracks 2, 8
Engineered and Mixed by Harry Rutherford – All tracks
Recorded at The Farm Studio, Surrey
Additional recording at Churchfield Studio, London and Tree House Studios, Cape Town
Mastered by Dick Beetham at 360 Mastering, London

  2011  /  Album Mike and the Mechanics, Album/Song, The Road  /  Last Updated February 2, 2013 by The-Archiver  /