Info Panel
You are here:   Home  /  Album Peter Gabriel  /  Deutsches Album (German Security)

Deutsches Album (German Security)


Side one

  1. ”Der Rhythmus der Hitze” – 5:36
  2. ”Das Fischernetz” – 6:45
  3. ”Kon Takt!” – 4:31
  4. ”San Jacinto” – 6:13

Side two

  1. ”Schock den Affen” – 5:43
  2. ”Handauflegen” – 6:02
  3. ”Nicht die Erde hat dich verschluckt” – 5:59
  4. ”Mundzumundbeatmung” – 4:54
Album Credits

All songs written by Peter Gabriel. “Texte” (that is, lyrics) by Peter Gabriel and Horst Königstein.

Peter Gabriel – vocals, synthesizers, surdu on 1 & 8, drums on 4
Jerry Marotta – drums, percussion on 6, surdu on 1
Tony Levin – bass on 1 & 6-8, Chapman stick on 2-5, fretless bass on 6
Larry Fast – Synthesizers on 1-5, 7 & 8, electronic percussion on 8
David Rhodes – Guitar on 2-8, backing vocals on 1, 2-3, 6 & 8
John Ellis – Backing vocals on 1, 3 & 8, guitar on 2 & 4
Roberto Laneri – Treated saxophone on 2
Morris Pert – Timbales on 6, percussion on 8
Stephen Paine – Fairlight CMI on 2
David Lord – Synthesizer on 6 and 7, piano on 7 and 8
Peter Hammill – Backing vocals on 2, 5-6
Jill Gabriel – Backing vocals on 4
Ekome Dance Company – Ghanaian drums on 1

Notes (from Wiki)

Deutsches Album (1982) is the second German language album by British progressive rock musician Peter Gabriel. It is a German language adaptation of Gabriel’s fourth album, Peter Gabriel (1982) (Security in North America). The Deutsches Album was released simultaneously with the international edition in Germany. In lyrics and mixing, the album is noticeably different from the international release.
This album boasted a different running order and some substantially remixed songs from the English language version. Even the background vocals were redone in German. Gabriel’s previous German language album, Ein deutsches album (1980), had been more or less just an overdub of its corresponding English language version, Peter Gabriel (1980).
The running order of Deutsches Album is slightly different from its parent, as “San Jacinto” is transposed with “The Family and the Fishing Net” (here, “Das Fischernetz”). There are also some obvious differences in running times, with some songs being 15-30 seconds longer or shorter than the corresponding international versions. Track eight gained a final coda not on the English version, while track seven has an earlier instrumental fade. Other changes are only noticeable when listening to both versions back-to-back, such as the shouted nonsense refrain of “WAKAKA WAKAKA” in track three. There are also subtle differences in the instrumental mixes.

  1982  /  Album Peter Gabriel, Album/Song, Security  /  Last Updated July 31, 2012 by Harrychuck  /