Info Panel
You are here:   Home  /  Album Steve Hackett  /  Defector  /  Defector


Defector was the fourth released by Steve Hackett, again on the back of success from the 1979 Spectral Mornings tours Steve used his touring band to record with.


  1. The Steppes
  2. Time To Get Out
  3. Slogans
  4. Leaving
  5. Two Vamps As Guests
  6. Jacuzzi
  7. Hammer In The Sand
  8. The Toast
  9. The Show
  10. Sentimental Institution
Bonus Tracks (2005 remaster)
  •  Hercules Unchained
  • Sentimental Institution (Live at The Theatre Royal, Drury Lane) 
  • The Steppes (Live at the Reading Festival)
  • Slogans (Live at the Reading Festival)
  • Clocks – The Angel Of Mons (Live at the Reading Festival)


Steve Hackett – Electric guitar, Acoustic guitar, Rolang GR 500, Vocals, Optigan
Pete Hicks – Lead Vocals
Dik Cadbury – Bass, Vocals
Nick Magnus – Keyboards
John Hackett – Concert and Alto Flute
John Shearer – Drums and Percussion


Produced by John Acock and Steve Hackett

Recorded at Wessex Studios

Remastered by Ben Fenner in 2005


Original LP sleeve design by Kim Poor (Enamels)


Originally 21st June 1980 Charisma (CDS4018) Vinyl 7 weeks in the UK album chart highest position number 9.

Remaster released 19th September 2005 (CDSCDR4018) CD

Remaster released 19th September 2005 (CDSCDR4018)

  1980  /  Defector  /  Last Updated November 13, 2012 by The-Archiver  /