Info Panel
You are here:   Home  /  Album Phil Collins  /  CollabPhil  /  Brian Eno – Taking Tiger Mountain (By Strategy)

Brian Eno – Taking Tiger Mountain (By Strategy)

Taking Tiger Mountain (By Strategy) is the second solo album by Brian Eno. Produced by Eno, it was originally released by Island Records in November 1974 in a gatefold sleeve.

Taking Tiger Mountain (By Strategy) is a loose concept album with topics ranging from espionage to the Chinese Communist revolution. The album’s music has an upbeat and bouncy sound but with dark lyrical themes. The album did not chart in the United Kingdom or United States, but received greater attention from the rock press.

Track listing

All songs written and composed by Brian Eno, except where noted.

Side one

No. Title Length
1. “Burning Airlines Give You So Much More” 3:18
2. “Back in Judy’s Jungle” 5:16
3. “The Fat Lady of Limbourg” 5:03
4. “Mother Whale Eyeless” 5:45
5. “The Great Pretender” 5:11

Side two

No. Title Length
1. “Third Uncle” (Eno, arr. Brian Turrington) 4:48
2. “Put a Straw Under Baby” 3:25
3. “The True Wheel” (composed by Eno, Phil Manzanera) 5:11
4. “China My China” 4:44
5. “Taking Tiger Mountain” 5:32


* Brian Eno – vocals, electronics, snake guitar, keyboards
* Phil Manzanera – guitars
* Brian Turrington – bass guitar
* Freddie Smith – drums
* Robert Wyatt – percussion, backing vocals

“Special Guests”

* Portsmouth Sinfonia – strings on “Put a Straw Under Baby”
* Randi and the Pyramids – chorus on “The True Wheel”
* The Simplistics – chorus on “Back in Judy’s Jungle” and “Taking Tiger Mountain”
* Andy Mackay – brass on “The Fat Lady of Limbourg”
* Phil Collins – extra drums on “Mother Whale Eyeless”
* Polly Eltes – vocals on “Mother Whale Eyeless”
* Peter Schmidt – Oblique Strategies (with Brian Eno) and album cover art

Technical personnel

* Rhett Davies – engineer
* Robert Ash – assistant engineer
* Nicholas Pearson – special aide
* Bill Kelsey – special equipment
* Brian Eno – arrangement, producer
* Phil Manzanera – arrangement, assistant producer.

  1974  /  CollabPhil  /  Last Updated May 21, 2013 by The-Archiver  /